San Diego Division Contacts

We are the San Diego division of the American Heart Association and we can't wait to work with your! If you need more information on local events, volunteer opportunities, sponsorships and more please reach out to us.

San Diego Main Office: 858-410-3850


Leadership Team

Jessica Newmyer - Executive Director, [email protected]

Eric Thompson - Senior Director, Communications and Marketing, [email protected]

Chelsea Walczak Vircks, MPH - Senior Director, Community Impact, [email protected]


Event Directors

Andrew Johnson - Vice President, Development, [email protected]

Shana Contreiras - Business Development Director, [email protected]

Danielle Lane - Business Development Director, [email protected]


San Diego Division 2021-2022 Board of Directors

Chair: Juli Moran Thirtle
Managing Partner

President: Ramón Hernandez, DrPH, MPH
Section Chief, Community Health
UC San Diego, School of Medicine

Leadership Development Chair: Matthew Zubiller
Chief Growth Officer
Smile Brands

Members at Large

Debbie Day, MBA
Mitchell International

Nancy Greengold, MD, MBA
Chief Medical Officer
Sharp Grossmont Hospital

Natalie Hawryluk, PhD
Senior Director, Drug Discovery & Early Development
Edgewise Therapeutics

Andrew Ho, MD, FACC
Temecula Center for Cardiac Care

Steven Hooker, PhD
Dean, College of Health & Human Services
San Diego State University 

Tommy Le, MBA, MPH
COO & Interim CEO
Select Specialty Hospitals - San Diego

Joe Lo Duca, MBA, MPH
Vice President, Cardiovascular Service Line
Sharp HealthCare

Gene Ma, MD, FACEP
Chief Medical Officer
Tri-City Medical Center

Linda Naviaux Niggli
Retired Senior Executive
Luxury Fashion Industry

Ajay Srivastava, MD, FACC
Program Director, Scripps Health Heart Failure Program
Scripps Clinic

Ernesto Villanueva, EdD
Senior Executive
Education Sector

David Zumaya, MS
My San Diego